Non-Whistlers & Suicide

Recently I was very publicly interrupted, and thanked, by an elderly lady as I went about my business on a public street in Galway.

That elderly lady smiled and told me that she hadn’t heard a man whistle in public in so long that she thought she was hearing things.

Since that encounter I have ruminated and pondered and wondered.

A friend put this – the availability (and by definition perhaps, prolific use) of  MP3 players may have had a part to play.

I don’t know, I can but hope that is the reason, otherwise, the distinct lack of whistlers on our streets may be the result of something more sinister.

For instance, could the surge in suicide rates in Ireland be directly connected?

Is the lack of whistlers an indicator of depressed states of mind?

I know I do at times see connections in the strangest of things, so I’m just asking is all.

Examiner

, ,

2 Comments on “Non-Whistlers & Suicide”

  1. mikaelfernstrom
    July 18, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Perhaps today’s music is not whistleable? A lot of the pitch-corrected crap streamed across t’interweb doesn’t have any catchy melodies, people’s brains are left hanging in a melodyless universe.

  2. journeymans
    July 18, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Possibly but I think not entirely as I sometimes whistle non-sensical tunes and am happy out in my own world when I do that.
    I don’t know if the tune whistled needs to be an actual tune at all.
    Whistling may be only loosely related to tunes!
    It could be a powerful tool of armour readily available to any one with a mind for it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

